Report: NBA rescinds Draymond Green’s second technical foul after officiating error

Peninsula Premier Admin

The NBA is rescinding the second technical foul assessed to Golden State Warriors forward Draymond Green during a 119-104 loss to the New York Knicks on Thursday at the Chase Center.

The Athletic first reported the NBA’s decision to rescind the technical foul.

The technical foul called by second-year official John Butler will no longer lead to a fine for Green, but the most significant damage from the mistaken call can’t be taken away. After Green was automatically ejected following his second technical foul, the Warriors were forced to play the second half of their matchup against the Knicks without one of their best players.

The technical was called with 1:04 remaining in the first half after Green committed a turnover on a pass intended for rookie teammate James Wiseman.

Butler assessed Green a second technical for using profane language that he believed was personally directed at him, but Green was instead yelling at Wiseman. Warriors head coach Steve Kerr said the officiating crew chief, Ben Taylor, apologized to him for the incorrect judgment at halftime, so the NBA’s decision to take the technical off of Green’s ledger isn’t much of a surprise.

“Draymond and I were out of sync,” Wiseman said postgame. “Mistakes happen. I don’t know why the ref did that. He may have thought that Draymond was talking to another player, but he was talking to me. I don’t know. I am confused myself. That was a weird moment, to be honest.”

Following Thursday’s game, Green told ESPN’s Marc Spears he was confused why the officiating crew couldn’t overturn the call after realizing it was incorrect.

“Officials can meet and make a decision on any call throughout the game, but when it comes to a technical that was clearly the wrong call due to an official assuming I was talking to him when in fact I wasn’t, that can’t be overturned?” Green told Spears. “Maybe it’s time to take a look at that rule. I would love clarity on why that’s the rule, if in fact it is a rule.”

When his second technical is officially rescinded, Green will have three technical fouls on the season.

Contributed by local news sources

Next Post

College basketball: Seaside’s Jordan Olivares not letting injuries saddle her at Sac State

SACRAMENTO — A foot injury had her on the shelf for the first two weeks of the season. Four games into guard Jordan Olivares’ season debut, her hamstring popped. In between those injuries, the former Seaside High standout was establishing her role on the hardwood for Sacramento State, putting up […]